Driving under the influence (DUI), driving while intoxicated (DWI), operating under the influence (OUI) or drunk driving is a serious criminal offense. The laws and penalties are directly related to age and blood alcohol content (BAC) levels. In Rhode Island, a DWI charge is issued to any driver 21 or older with a BAC of .08% or higher. For drivers under 21, a BAC of .02% is considered grounds for a DWI.
Potential penalties of DUI, DWI, OUI or drunk driving can include:
- Fines, fees and other monetary assessments
- Negative marks on driving record
- Increased insurance costs
- License suspension
- Community service
- Jail time
- DUI school or alcohol/drug treatment
Know Your Rights
If you are pulled over for DUI, DWI, OUI, or drunk driving, every moment counts.
The quicker you retain legal council, the easier it is to protect your rights. The best defense you have against any charges is an experienced, skilled defense attorney. Michael Brady’s 20 years of experience as a Rhode Island police officer, combined with more than 15 years as a defense attorney, gives him the knowledge to protect your rights.
If you are in custody or cannot come to the office in Wakefield, RI, Michael Brady will come to you.
NOW for a FREE initial consultation